Archives Roadshow: 11 Objects, 11 Stories, 11 Jewish Archives (Part One)

Actions Panel

Archives Roadshow: 11 Objects, 11 Stories, 11 Jewish Archives (Part One)

Part one of a three part series featuring Jewish archival collections from across Canada.

When and where

Date and time

Location

Online

About this event

Jewish archival collections across Canada hold objects that together comprise the collective memory of Jews who have lived here for centuries. Using one object from their respective collections, eleven archivists from the west to the east coasts of the country will share the stories of these objects that distill the role and importance of their collection in their regional spaces but within the larger context of the Canadian Jewish experience. As part of the Azrieli Foundation’s funding of the Jewish Public Library’s (JPL) Digital Transformation Initiative, we are gathering our partners from across the country to give voice to memory.

Part One features:

  • Montreal Holocaust Museum – Montreal, Quebec
  • Saint John Jewish Historical Museum – Saint John, New Brunswick
  • Library and Archives Canada – Ottawa, Ontario
  • Jewish Public Library – Montreal, Quebec

Event time: 9 a.m. (PST), 10 a.m. (MST), 11 a.m. (CST), 12 p.m. (EST)

*****

This is the first part of a three part series, coordinated by the Jewish Public Library and funded by the Azrieli Foundation.

Part Two (Sunday, November 27, 2022):

  • Ontario Jewish Archives, Blankenstein Family Heritage Centre – Toronto, Ontario
  • Alex Dworkin Canadian Jewish Archives – Montreal, Quebec
  • Congregation Shaar Hashomayim – Montreal, Quebec
  • Ottawa Jewish Archives – Ottawa, Ontario

Event time: 10 a.m. (PST), 11 a.m. (MST), 12 p.m. (CST), 1 p.m. (EST)

Part Three (Sunday December 11, 2022):

  • Jewish Museum and Archives of British Columbia – Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Jewish Historical Society of Southern Alberta – Calgary, Alberta
  • Jewish Heritage Centre of Western Canada – Winnipeg, Manitoba

Event time: 12 p.m. (PST), 1 p.m. (MST), 2 p.m. (CST), 3 p.m. (EST)