Free

Bad Bridget: Histories and stories of Criminal and Deviant Irish Women

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Untold stories of generations of Irish immigrant women who turned to crime and deviance to make their way in their new homes.

About this event

Dr. Leanne McCormick (Ulster University) and Dr. Elaine Farrell (Queen’s University Belfast) share the untold stories of generations of Irish immigrant women who turned to crime and deviance to make their way in their new homes. The project also seeks to uncover the types of criminal activity in which Irish women were involved, from drunkenness to murder. The project shares fascinating stories and experiences of Irish girls and women who left Ireland for the ‘new world’. This talk will have a particular focus on the Canadian experience.

Time: 12 Noon PT/ 3 pm ET/ 8 pm GMT (Ireland)

Length: 1 hour

*****************************************************************************************************

Brigid Festival Vancouver is a volunteer-led event and admission to all events is free. Donations to the Irish Benevolent Society are appreciated and can be made at https://www.gofundme.com/f/irish-benevolent-society-of-bc

We acknowledge that this event is hosted on the traditional, ancestral and unceded territories of many different Indigenous communities stretching across this beautiful land we now call home.

This event will take place virtually in accordance with current British Columbia provincial COVID 19 guidelines.

Please note, this session will be recorded and shared after the event.

Please register early as spaces are limited.

Date and time

Location

Online event

Save This Event

Event Saved