$56.76 – $335.24

Building Safer Communities Training - PART 2

Actions and Detail Panel

From $56.76

Event Information

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
BUILDING SAFER COMMUNITIES - PART II: Crime Prevention Programs, Collaborative Practice and Decision-Making, and Communication

About this event

Join the Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention (CMNCP) and partners for a virtual training session on crime prevention and community safety planning. To date, CMNCP has trained over 500 participants in 400 communities across Canada.

The training will provide participants with information on:

Crime Prevention Programs: Identification, Adaptation, and Funding

  • How to identify quality, relationships and fit of programs
  • How to keep an eye on upstream prevention
  • How to adjust/adapt existing programs to local context
  • Types of funding for crime prevention programs

Roles, Collaborative Practice & Decision-Making

  • Principles of cross-sectoral collaboration
  • How to make decisions collaboratively
  • How to build long term collaboration with key stakeholders
  • Different types of roles of practitioners

Communicating Crime Prevention & Community Safety

  • How to communicate crime prevention and community safety
  • How to develop key messages and tell stories of success
  • How to develop social media campaigns for crime prevention

TRAINING DATES

The 12-hour virtual training will be delivered over three 4-hour sessions:

  • December 13th, 2021
  • December 14th, 2021
  • December 15th, 2021

10 AM (PT) / 11 AM (MT) / 12 PM (CT) / 1 PM (ET) / 2 PM (AT)

COST

Non-Members of CMNCP:

  • Single registration (1 participant): $250
  • Group registration (2 participants): $300

Members of CMNCP:

  • Single registration (1 participant): $200
  • Group registration (2 participants): $250

Students: $50

DEADLINE

Please register by December 10, 2021.

CERTIFICATE

All training participants will receive a certificate upon completion of the training.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

Representatives from communities interested in learning more about the implementation and sustainability of community safety and well-being plans (both rural and urban), including but not limited to:

  • Employees of municipalities/townships, regional governments, Indigenous communities, elected officials, as well as local agencies, organizations, and service providers from different sectors participating in the planning process of Crime Prevention (CP) and Community Safety and Well-Being (CSWB) plans.
  • Students interested in working with communities in crime prevention/community safety, municipal governance, social development, and community safety and well-being planning.

PREREQUISITE

Ideally, interested participants have taken Building Safer Communities PART I or have a working knowledge of crime prevention and community safety at the local level. If you have not completed PART I, it is still possible to register for Part II and take Part I at a later date. CMNCP will provide a preparation document in advance of the training for attendees who have not yet taken the introduction training.

FACILITATORS

  • Felix Munger, Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention
  • Audrey Monette, Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention
  • Julie Thompson, Waterloo Region Crime Prevention Council
  • Others to be confirmed

Interested in getting monthly news on research, training, funding on crime prevention? Click here.

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Organizer Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention

Organizer of Building Safer Communities Training - PART 2

Save This Event

Event Saved