Fact-checking  misinformation for journalists: A JHR/First Draft training

Fact-checking misinformation for journalists: A JHR/First Draft training

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

    Location

    Online event

    Journalists for Human Rights and First Draft is offering a free, online, 90-minute workshop on investigating mis- and dis-information.

    About this event

    Want to sharpen your investigative and verification skills? Join us for this free, online workshop as we share strategies, tools and techniques for fact-checking and reporting on misinformation.

    You’ll learn about how misinformation spreads and how to track it, how to verify photos and social media groups, and advanced boolean searching techniques.

    Space is limited so sign up early to reserve your spot. A zoom link will be sent to you closer to your registered date.

    Your trainers:

    Anita Li - Anita is a media strategist and consultant with a decade of experience as a multi-platform journalist at outlets across North America. She is also a journalism instructor in the Greater Toronto Area and at the City University of New York.

    Francesca Fionda - is a freelance investigative and data journalist based in Vancouver. She's also an adjunct professor at the UBC School of Journalism and instructor at BCIT's Broadcast & Online Journalism Program.

    Alia Dharssi - Alia is a freelance journalist, Deputy Editor of Asparagus Magazine, and a sustainability consultant. Her writing on sustainability, human rights, immigration, and global development has appeared in publications ranging from The Discourse to The New York Times.

    Overall session schedule:

    April

    • Monday, April 19 @ 4 pm PT / 7 pm ET (Trainer: Francesca Fionda) *FULL*
    • Friday, April 23 @ 10 am PT / 1 pm ET (Trainer: Anita Li) *FULL*
    • Wednesday, April 28 @ 5 pm PT / 8pm ET (Trainer: Alia Dharssi) *FULL*
    • Friday, April 30 @ 10 am PT / 1 pm ET (Trainer: Anita Li)

    May

    • Tuesday, May 4 @ 2pm PT / 5pm ET (Trainer: Alia Dharssi)
    • Thursday May 6 @ 1pm PT / 4 pm ET(Trainer: Francesca Fionda)
    • Saturday, May 8 at 9:30 am PT / 12:30 pm ET (Trainer: Alia Dharssi)
    • Wednesday, May 19 @ 11 am PT / 2 pm ET (Trainer: Anita Li)

    Learn more about Journalists for Human Rights and First Draft.

    Fact-checking  misinformation for journalists: A JHR/First Draft training image

    Save This Event

    Event Saved