Donation

Indigenous perspectives: The place of Canada in Canadian Food Studies

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
A webinar featuring important Indigenous food scholars, activists and thinkers as they share with us what ‘Canada’ means to them.

About this Event

Join us for this webinar featuring important Indigenous food scholars, activists, and thinkers as they share what ‘Canada’ means to them and their food systems work. The panelists include Dr. Sherry Pictou, James Whetung and Dr. Clifford Atleo. Tabitha Robin will moderate the discussion.

As our association reckons with the sustained systemic racism and ongoing state violence waged disproportionately against racialized, Black and Indigenous people, we are committed to learning to better work within an anti-racism paradigm, as outlined in our recent public statement. As food scholars, educators, and activists, we have a collective responsibility to acknowledge these truths and work to actively confront and challenge them through research, teaching, critical analysis, and collective action. We also need to look inward. Recently, some CAFS members have questioned the use of “Canadian” in the names of both our association and journal (Canadian Food Studies/La Revue canadienne des études sur l’alimentation). We have had discussions internally, but it is equally important to provide a platform to have these discussions publicly. This webinar series was put together to help frame this reflection, and to start us off on the right path.

Please join us Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 12:00 pm PT / 3:00 pm ET (1:00 pm MT / 2:00 pm CT / 4:00 pm AT / 4:30 pm NT). Registration is required. Confirmed participants will be sent a Zoom link.

NOTE: The eventbrite system does not allow us to create a "free" ticket alongside "by donation" tickets, meaning you have to input a minimum donation amount. If you would like to attend the event free of costs, that is no problem! Just email cafsadmin[at]foodstudies.ca to register and request the Zoom link.

This webinar kicks off a series of CAFS Webinars, designed to engage the CAFS on a broad range of food-related issues. The next one will take place on November 19, for a conversation between Dr. Kelly Bronson and Dr. Michael Carolan, probing the complexities within the rise of digital agriculture.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved