InkWell Book Launch & Fundraiser

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Friends House

60 Lowther

Toronto, ON M5R 1C7

Canada

View Map

Event description

Description

Please join us for the launch of The Double World, a diverse anthology of poetry, fiction, memoir, and playwriting by 18 writers from InkWell Workshops. InkWell offers free, drop-in creative writing workshops to people with mental health and addictions issues. These workshops are led by award-winning professional writers with lived experience.

Edgy, funny, tender, and confident, the exciting new voices collected in The Double World are sure to challenge and delight.

Hosted by InkWell co-founder Eufemia Fantetti, the launch will be a fabulous literary celebration, with readings and a silent auction. Light refreshments will be served. All are welcome!

Proceeds from book sales will all go to supporting InkWell's programming. Find out more at http://www.inkwellworkshops.com.

Silent auction items include:

  • 1-hour headshot session with professional photographer Ayelet Tsabari ($300 value): http://ayelettsabari.wix.com/photography
  • Make-up application session with eco-beauty pro Maya Goldenberg ($150 value): www.mayagoldenberg.com
  • Two hours of computer help with NOW Magazine's IT expert Rudi Garcia ($250 value)
  • Gift certificate to Hibiscus Cafe ($30 value): http://hibiscuscafe.ca/
  • Manuscript evaluation service - 15 pages of non-fiction with long-time editor Amanda Lewis ($100 value): www.theamandalewis.com
  • Manuscript evaluation service - 15 pages of fiction with award-winning author Leesa Dean ($100 value): www.leesadean.ca
  • Manuscript evaluation service - 10 pages of poetry with acclaimed poet/editor Stuart Ross ($75 value): http://bloggamooga.blogspot.ca/
  • 10 books of poetry from Mansfield Press ($170 value): http://mansfieldpress.net/
  • 8 novels from HarperCollins: http://www.harpercollins.ca/
  • 10 books of poetry from Brick Books ($185 value): http://www.brickbooks.ca
  • Handmade fleece blanket from Joan Solomon ($35 value)
  • Desertscape print by Leslie Becker ($30 value)
  • 2 bags of coffee from Supercoffee ($30 value): www.supercoffee.ca
  • Prize pack from The New Quarterly including tote bag, current issue, 1-year subscription, 2 tickets to the Wild Writers literary festival opening night event featuring Alison Pick and Kathleen Winter ($95 value): www.tnq.ca

...and more!


FAQs

Is the venue accessible?

Friends House is fully wheelchair accessible. We also ask that guests refrain from using scented products, including shampoos, moisturizers, and perfume. Washroom facilities are gender-neutral. For other questions related to accessibility, please contact us at info@inkwellworkshops.com.

Are there ID or minimum age requirements to enter the event?

Friends House is alcohol- and smoke-free. All are welcome!

What are my transportation/parking options for getting to and from the event?

Transit: Take the subway to St. George station and exit via Bedford. Walk 2 blocks north to Lowther Ave. (approx. 3 minutes). The 26 Dupont bus also stops at Bedford and Lowther.

Car: Limited parking is available at the back of Friends Place (entrance off Bedford Rd). There is also street parking and Green P parking in the area.

How can I contact the organizer with any questions?

Drop us a line at info@inkwellworkshops.com

Date and Time

Location

Friends House

60 Lowther

Toronto, ON M5R 1C7

Canada

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved