Intro to OpenMP: Part 1

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description

Description

This online workshop explores how to use OpenMP to improve the speed of serial jobs on multi-core machines. Participants are led through a series of hands-on, interactive examples, focusing on multi-threading parallel programming.

The topics covered include:
  • Basic OpenMP operations
  • Loops
  • Reduction variables

Session Details:
Tuesday, January 31
10am-12pm PST / 11am-1pm MST / 12-2pm CST / 1-3pm EST


Who Should Attend:
  • This session is intended for current WestGrid / Compute Canada account holders who have experience with programming in C/C++ or FORTRAN and would like to learn how to use OpenMP directives in their code.

Pre-Requisite Skills / Knowledge:
  • All attendees must have familiarity with logging in to WestGrid systems, using UNIX and basic job script commands. If you are a new user who has never written C/C++ or FORTRAN code before, this session may not be suited for you at this time.
  • All attendees must have accounts with Compute Canada and WestGrid


Please email info@westgrid.ca for more information or with any questions about this session.

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved