$52.50 – $335.24
PART I - Building Safer Communities Training

PART I - Building Safer Communities Training

Actions and Detail Panel

From $52.50

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

BUILDING SAFER COMMUNITIES - PART 1: Join CMNCP for a virtual training session on community safety and well-being planning.

About this event

Join the Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention (CMNCP) for a virtual training session on community safety and well-being planning. To date, CMNCP has trained over 500 participants in 200 communities across Canada.

The training will provide participants with the necessary understanding, knowledge, and practice implications to prepare a community safety and well-being plan in collaboration with community partners that proactively addresses locally identified priority risks.

TRAINING DATES

The 12-hour virtual training will be delivered through three 4-hour sessions:

  • Monday, September 12th, 2022
  • Monday, September 19th ,2022
  • Monday, September 26th, 2022

10 am (PDT) / 11 am (MDT) / 12 pm (CDT) / 1 pm (EDT) / 2 pm (ADT)

COST *

  • Single registration (1 participant): $300 per ticket
  • Group registration (2 to 4 participants): $275 per ticket
  • Group registration (5 or more participants): $250 per ticket
  • Students: $50
  • Community Rate: $150 (see below for more information)

*Members of CMNCP have access to a $50 discount on each ticket. Please use discount code CMNCPMEMBER22 at checkout.

COMMUNITY RATES

Supporting knowledge exchange among crime prevention, community safety, and well-being professionals, volunteers, and others working in our communities is vital to CMNCP’s commitment to equity, social justice, and evidence-informed decision-making.

We encourage the participation of diverse communities in our training and understand that funding for professional/volunteer development can be difficult to obtain. To support your participation in CMNCP’s training sessions, special registration rates have been established for delegates for whom the cost may be a barrier to attend.

If you are interested in accessing this rate, please contact admin@cmncp.ca.

DEADLINE

Please register by September 7th, 2022.

CERTIFICATE

All training participants will receive a certificate upon completion of the training.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

  • Representatives from communities interested in developing and implementing a community safety and well-being plan; municipal employees who may be tasked to create, guide, and/or implement a community safety and well-being plan
  • First Nation communities, elected officials, as well as local agencies, organizations, and service providers from different sectors participating on multi-sectoral advisory committees or who may be involved in the planning process
  • Students interested in working with communities on violence prevention, community safety, municipal governance, social development, and community safety and well-being planning.

KEY OUTCOMES

Upon completion of the training, participants will understand:

  • Key terms/concepts in community safety and well-being (CSWB)
  • Practice of community safety and developing CSWB plans
  • Useful tools and resources

FACILITATORS

  • Felix Munger, CMNCP
  • Audrey Monette, CMNCP
  • Katie Cook, CMNCP
  • Christiane Sadeler, More Better Solutions
  • Dave Critchley, City of Burnaby
  • Silvia Dubray, City of Williams Lake
  • Others TBD

Interested in getting monthly news on research, training, funding on crime prevention? Click here.

Save This Event

Event Saved