Free

Salvation in Eastern Orthodoxy

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join us as we discuss the insights that Western Christians can learn from Eastern Orthodoxy!

About this Event

In this season after Easter, join us for a discussion with Dr. James Payton of the themes and insights in his new book, The Victory of the Cross: Salvation in Eastern Othodoxy. We will meet over Zoom on Sunday, April 25 at 8pm ET (7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT). The Zoom link will be emailed to you in your registration confirmation email and again on the morning of the event in a reminder email.

Unfortunately, over the last millennium, Western Christians have been largely unaware of the rich insights into Christian faith that exist within Eastern Orthodoxy. After a career teaching on this topic, Dr. Payton will be joining us and helping us to think about the cross as a form of victory rather than defeat.

Payton has been praised by Orthodox scholars for providing this "highly faithful presentation of the ancient patristic approach to salvation...with theological precision and pastoral respect" (Geoffrey Ready, Orthodox School of Theology, Trinity College, University of Toronto).

Join us as we continue to attempt to address the various divisions we see in the world today - this time, looking at the historic divide between Western and Eastern Christianity.

Hosted by Rick Mast (University of Alberta) and Mike Wagenman (Western University)


		Salvation in Eastern Orthodoxy image
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved