Understanding and Responding to Sexual Violence in Immigrant and Refugee Co...

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online

Canada

View Map

Event description

Description

Sexual violence is a complex and nuanced issue that affects immigrant and refugee communities in distinct ways.

The purpose of this free two part course series is to help front-line workers better understand and respond to sexual violence in immigrant and refugee communities.

Course Overview:

In this in-depth course series, you will learn about:

  • The unique experience and stories of immigrant and refugee survivors of sexual violence
  • Debunking harmful myths about sexual violence and how to recognize and victim-blaming
  • Anti-racist and anti-oppressive approaches to understanding sexual violence
  • How to respond to disclosures of sexual violence and support survivors

Certification:

You will receive certificates of completion from OCASI for both Level 1 and Level 2 of this course series.

Time Commitment:

Level 1 and Level 2 have 5 modules each, so there are 10 modules in total for this course. Each module takes about an hour to complete. You will have one week to complete each module at your own pace, with the support of the facilitator. There is a two week break between Level 1 and Level 2.

Course Dates:

LEVEL 1

Friday, November 15, 2019: Module 1 starts

Friday, November 22, 2019: Module 2 starts

Friday, November 29, 2019: Module 3 starts

Friday, December 6, 2019: Module 4 starts

Friday, December 13, 2019: Module 5 starts

LEVEL 2

Monday, January 6, 2019: Module 1 starts

Monday, January 13, 2019: Module 2 starts

Monday, January 20, 2019: Module 3 starts

Monday, January 27, 2019: Module 4 starts

Monday, February 3, 2019: Module 5 starts

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online

Canada

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved