Skip Main Navigation
Page Content

The Victoria Jazz Orchestra was formed in May, 2013 and performs regularly at Hermann’s Jazz Club.  Each show features new material as well as guest conductors and guest soloists. The VJO has featured saxophonists P.J. Perry and Mike Allen, trumpetist Mike Herriot and composers and conductors Ian McDougall, Alan Matheson, Andrew Homzy, and Greg Bush and the repertoire features Boss Brass arrangements and other prominent Canadian jazz composers as well as repertoire from the 20th century big band canon.

The Victoria Jazz Orchestra is presented by Artistic Director, Monik Nordine.   The VJO has a fluctuating personnel comprised of Victoria’s finest jazz musicians.  Dave Emery, Bruce MeikleRob Cheramy and Tom Vickery are our rhythm section and often in the brass you will hear Dave Flello, Miguelito Valdes, Mike Broadley, Dave Michaux,  Marianne IngAlfons Fear, Matt MacLean, Ian Cohen, Olivier Clements, Nick La Riviere, Tom Eadie, Scott McInnes, Matt Cameron, Bob Fraser, David Enns and  Bob McNally.  The reed section is Chris Watt, Andrew Greenwood, Doug Awai, Rainer Roth, Amanda Paterson, Monik Nordine and the stellar french horn section with Karen Hough and Marc Patsula.  We are the Victoria Jazz Orchestra!


Contact the VJO on Facebook and visit our youtube channel Victoria Jazz Orchestra






Save This Event

Event Saved