Demystifying the Doctrine of Discovery

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join legal experts and members of the CRP Elder’s Lodge and Research Team to uncover and explain the legal framework of Canada

About this Event

WHEN: October 13, 2020 from 12- 2 p.m. PST/ 3-5 p.m. EST / 4-6 p.m. AST

WHAT: Join us in a discussion as we demystify the legal underpinnings of what is now known as Canada, including the Doctrine of Discovery, the concept of terra nullius, etc.

We will also explain the legal framework of Canada as a confederation and how that framework is applied in contemporary proceedings (e.g. Crown arguments).

This is Webinar #2 in our Legal Innovations Series.

WHO: Hosted by Elder Larry McDermott (CRP Elder's Lodge) and Larry Innes (CRP Domestic Law and Policy Lead)

with

Dr. John Borrows (Canada Research Chair, Indigenous Law); and

Rayanna Seymour- Hourie (Staff Lawyer and RELAW Manager, West Coast Environmental Law)

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved