National Knowledge Exchange Workshop on Rural Crime Prevention

National Knowledge Exchange Workshop on Rural Crime Prevention

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Date and time

Location

Online event

Join us for a knowledge exchange workshop on crime prevention and community safety in the rural context.

About this event

Join the Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention and the Halifax Regional Municipality for a virtual knowledge exchange workshop on crime prevention and community safety in the rural context.

Description

The purpose of the workshop is to bring together practitioners, municipal staff, elected officials, and other representatives from rural communities across the country to discuss crime prevention efforts in the rural context. By seeking input directly from rural communities regarding successes, challenges, gaps, and needs, the workshop will contribute to the knowledge and capacity to address community safety in rural areas and to strengthen local community safety strategies by including a rural focus or lens. Participants will have opportunities to learn about national and international programs/initiatives and network with other practitioners to share learnings, challenges, and successes.

Time and Date

The 4-hour workshop will be held on Wednesday, June 22, 2022

9 am (PDT) / 10 am (MDT) / 11 am (CDT) / 12 pm (EDT) / 1 pm (ADT)

The workshop will be held virtually on Zoom.

Cost: Free

Registration Deadline

Please register by June 17th, 2022. If you have any questions, please contact admin@cmncp.ca.

Who Should Attend

  • Representatives of municipalities/townships, governments, Indigenous communities, elected officials, as well as local agencies, organizations, and service providers from different sectors interested in discussing crime prevention and community safety in the rural context.
  • Students interested in working with communities in crime prevention/community safety, municipal governance, social development, and community safety and well-being planning in the rural context.

About CMNCP

The Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention is a not-for-profit organization that works collaboratively with communities across Canada to build capacity, prevent and reduce violent crime, and foster community safety and well-being. This work is guided by a focus on upstream prevention efforts in different sectors (e.g., education, health, social services) and expanding beyond criminal legal system responses. Our work is guided by principles of equity and centers the perspectives of people with lived or living experience and individuals who have been made vulnerable by oppressive systems.

Interested in getting monthly news on research, training, funding on crime prevention? Click here.

Save This Event

Event Saved