Collaboration and Collaborative Decision-Making Workshop

Actions Panel

Collaboration and Collaborative Decision-Making Workshop

Join us for a NEW workshop which on collaboration and collaborative decision making.

When and where

Location

Online

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

  • 7 days 4 hours
  • Mobile eTicket

Join the Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention for a workshop designed to help you gain the necessary knowledge and skills to make collaborate decisions that you can feel good about and that work.

Communities across Canada are increasingly implementing multi-sectoral approaches for local planning, including for community safety (and well-being). These approaches include steering committees and situation tables among others where these groups try to bring different voices and experiences to the decision-making process. Unfortunately, groups often engage in collaborative decision-making without truly understanding the strengths, complexities, and challenges of such decision-making.

In this interactive, two-part workshop, participants will discover how to build and lead value-based collaboration, and how to make effective collaborative decisions for crime prevention and community safety and well-being. The workshop will offer group exercises, discussions on research and current best practice, a review of case studies from across North America, along with tools to help participants enhance their collaboration building and collaborative decision-making efforts.

CMNCP values dialogue and the potential of small workshop groups. We are therefore limiting the workshop to 50 participants and will provide multiple opportunities for small-group engagements.

TRAINING DATE

The four-hour virtual trainings will be delivered on:

  • Monday, April 17th, 2023 at 10:00 am (PST) / 11:00 am (MST) / 12:00 pm (CST) / 1:00 pm (EST) / 2:00 pm (AST)
  • Monday, April 24th at 10:00 am (PST) / 11:00 am (MST) / 12:00 pm (CST) / 1:00 pm (EST) / 2:00 pm (AST)

WHAT WILL PARTICIPANTS LEARN?

Session 1: Collaboration

  • Theory and principles of decision-making
  • Benefits of group decisions
  • The complexity of decision-making
  • Different decision-making styles

Session 2: Collaborative Decision Making

  • Understand challenges and opportunities of group decision-making
  • Know the common barriers to decision-making and how to overcome them
  • Have tools that can help in leading decision-making groups

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

This workshop is designed specifically for:

  • Leaders/facilitators of multi-sectoral groups (e.g., community safety/crime prevention steering committees, situation tables)
  • Elected officials and seniors officials in communities
  • Individuals who are members of multi-sectoral teams / groups seeking to understand and build skills for collaborative decision-making
  • Professionals charged with facilitating collaborative decision-making with a focus on community safety and well-being

COST

  • CMNCP MEMBERS - Single registration (1 participant): $150 per ticket
  • CMNCP MEMBERS - Group registration (2+ participants): $125 per ticket
  • NON-MEMBERS - Single registration (1 participant): $200 per ticket
  • NON-MEMBERS Group registration (2+ participants): $175 per ticket
  • Students: $30
  • To enhance equity, a limited number of flexible community rates are available by arrangement with the workshop organizers. If you are interested in accessing this rate, please contact admin@cmncp.ca.

LOGISTICS

Zoom meeting details will be sent in advance of the workshop.

DEADLINE

Please register by April 12th, 2023.

Get in touch with admin@cmncp.ca to learn more about how you can bring a custom version of this workshop to your organization or collaborative.