IBPOC Grad Fair

Actions Panel

Registrations are closed

You will be sent a Zoom link for the IBPOC Grad Fair on the morning of the event itself, May 3

IBPOC Grad Fair

A chance for IBPOC Theatre students from Canada to meet one another and receive advice from experienced IBPOC artists

By Brock University & York University

When and where

Date and time

Mon, May 3, 2021 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM PDT



About this event

Calling all IBPOC recent theatre graduates, students graduating this year and those entering their final year of study! You’re invited to an (online) IBPOC Theatre Grad Fair from 1:00-3:00 pm EDT on May 3! There, you’ll have an opportunity to meet with other IBPOC students from across the country and hear from experienced IBPOC artists on the transition from post-secondary theatre education to the professional realm.

The event will open with a round-table conversation with four artists, hosted by an IBPOC theatre leader, after which you’ll be invited to move into smaller break-out rooms for more focused conversations about specific career paths. Break-out rooms will be led by two artists with experience in a particular discipline, e.g. playwriting, directing, acting, producing, dramaturgy/criticism, production/design, and PR/publicity. One of the rooms will focus on the first year after leaving a post-secondary theatre program.

Artists include: Nina Lee Aquino, Lisa Karen Cox, Miriam Fernandes, Jeff Ho, Jordan Laffrenier, Shaista Latif, Owais Lightwala, Omari Newton, Matthew MacKenzie, Erin Macklem, Davinder Mahli, Sanskruti Marathe, Aidan Morishita-Miki, Marilo Nuñez, Tarndeep Pannu, Jiv Parasaram, Malina Patel, Luke Reece, Jamie Robinson, Quelemia Sparrow, Tanisha Taitt, and Syrus Marcus Ware.

WHEN: May 3, 2021, 1:00-3:00 EDT


**You will be sent a Zoom link for the IBPOC Grad Fair on the morning of the event itself, May 3**

This FREE event is made possible by the sponsorship of the following institutions and organizations:

Department of Dramatic Arts, Brock University; Canadian Association for Theatre Research/ L´association canadienne de la recherche théâtrale; Cahoots Theatre; School of Communications, Media, Arts and Design, Centennial College; Department of Theatre, Concordia University; Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Dalhousie University; Media & Performing Arts, George Brown College; Theatre Production Program, Humber College; Theatre Arts at Studio 58, Langara College; School of the Arts, McMaster University; Dan School of Drama & Music, Queen’s University; School of Performance, Faculty of Communication & Design, Ryerson University; School for the Contemporary Arts, Simon Fraser University; Department of Drama, University of Alberta; Department of Theatre & Film, University of British Columbia; School of Creative and Performing Arts, University of Calgary; School of English & Theatre Studies, University of Guelph; English, Theatre, Film & Media, University of Manitoba; École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada, National Theatre School of Canada; Department of Theatre, University of Ottawa; Department of Theatre, University of Regina; Theatre, University of the Fraser Valley; Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance Studies, University of Toronto; Department of English & Drama, University of Toronto Mississauga; Department of Arts, Culture, and Media, University of Toronto Scarborough; Department of Theatre, University of Victoria; School of Dramatic Art, University of Windsor; Department of Theatre and Performance, University of Waterloo; Department of Theatre and Film, University of Winnipeg; Department of Theatre, York University.

About the organizer