Free

Paueru Mashup Dance - Online Lessons

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Learn the Paueru Mashup, a community dance commissioned by the Powell Street Festival Society!

About this event

Courtesy of the 45th Powell Street Festival, we would like to invite everyone across the country to learn the Paueru Mashup, a taiko flashmob work that encapsulates the festival! It’s a community dance that we can all learn and perform together one day! Learn the dance online and videotape yourself, then we will edit everyone into a video that will premiere at the festival. Online dance lessons start on Thursday, April 22 – May 27.

Itching to move your body? Learn the Paueru Mashup, a taiko flashmob (inspired by Le Grand Continental)/community dance drawing on elements of Radio Taiso and Tanko Bushi, with a soundscape of sumo, omikoshi, martial arts, taiko, and Godzilla – a sonic mosaic of Powell Street Festival!

Commissioned by the Powell Street Festival Society with music created by Onibana Taiko and movements by Company 605, this high-energy dance is accessible for all ages and abilities across the country. No dance experience necessary! We’ll have skilled dance instructors walking you through the movements as you learn from the comfort of your own home. These are iterative lessons, so we encourage you to sign up for all the lessons so you can learn a new portion of the dance each week. Follow-up projects include a live performance and video, so let’s dance!:

- Thursday, April 22, 5 to 6 pm;

- Thursday, April 29, 5 to 6 pm;

- Thursday, May 6, 5 to 6 pm;

- Thursday, May13, 5 to 6 pm;

- Thursday, May 20, 5 to 6 pm;

- Thursday, May 27, 5 to 6 pm;

Lesson time in different time zones across Canada:

(5-6pm PDT, 6-7pm MDT, 7-8pm CDT, 8-9pm EDT, 9-10pm ADT, and 9:30-10:30pm NDT)

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Save This Event

Event Saved